(AFP-PNP "Marawi sa Panahon ng Kapayapaan" Belen- Photo from Tarlac Heritage Foundation)


CAMP AGUINALDO, Quezon City – Joint Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and Philippine National Police (PNP) Belen with theme: Marawi sa Panahon ng Kapayapaan, dedicated for the heroes of Marawi, is displayed as the hall of famer at the “10th Belenismo sa Tarlac”.

Former Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, now DILG Undersecretary Gen. Eduardo Año is the guest of honor at the 10th ‘Belenismo sa Tarlac’ Awards Night on 08 December, 2017 at the College of the Holy Spirit Gym, Tarlac City.

“This year’s Belenismo is especially meaningful to the soldiers who fought for the Liberation of Marawi, because the event is dedicated for them,” Colonel Edgard Arevalo, AFP Public Affairs Office Chief said.

The AFP-PNP Belen is made of recycled materials and was constructed by soldiers belonging to the Philippine Army’s 7th Infantry Division and Mechanized Infantry Division, and the PNP’s Police Regional Office 3.

The 10th Belenismo sa Tarlac opened on 06 November 2017 where, not only the AFP-PNP but, the different government and non-government entities of the whole Province of Tarlac displayed their Belen entries for the competition.  There were five categories, namely:  Grand Municipal, Grand Non-Municipal, Monumental, Church, and Community.

“For ten years, Tarlac Heritage Foundation (THF) was successful in enticing the people of Tarlac to participate and showcase their organization’s culture, unity, and creativity using indigenous and recycled materials.  I am also happy that the AFP and the PNP consistently cooperated with us,” Dra. Isa Cojuangco Suntay, THF’s co-founder said.

“The PNP used to win the competition until the immediate past three consecutive years where the AFP Belen won the Belenismo. This year, in commemoration of the heroic deeds of the AFP soldiers and the PNP personnel in the liberation of Marawi, they jointly created the magnificent AFP-PNP Belen,” Colonel Arevalo disclosed.


These are the list of winners for 10th Belenismo sa Tarlac 2017:

Grand Municipal Category

1st Place - Municipality of Capas 
2nd Place - Municipality of Moncada
2nd Place - Municipality of Concepcion
3rd Place - Municipality of San Manuel
3rd Place - Municipality of San Clemente
Grand Non Municipal Category

1st Place - St. Francis of Assisi Parish (Fr. Cris Lozano)
1st Place - SM Primeholdings Inc.
2nd Place - Mcdonald's Capas

"Special award" for the first ever Grand Non Municipal Category joint entry by THE PHILIPPINE ARMY  AND PNP PRO3 BELEN entitled "Marawi sa Panahon ng Kapayapaan" - a tribute to the policemen and soldiers  of Marawi who served selflessly in the efforts to liberate Marawi.

Monumental Category

1st Place - Mcdonald's Motorway
2nd Place - Tarlac Agricultural University
3rd Place - Azaya Garden Resort
4th Place – CityMall
Church Category

1st Place - St. Joseph Parish (Fr. Noel Paguinto)
2nd Place - Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Parish (Fr. Pablo Mungcal)
3rd Place - Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish (Fr. Jay Nidea)

Community Category

1st Place - Sto. Cristo Parish (Fr. Jonathan Ovivir)
1st Place - Barangay Health Worker – Tariji
2nd Place - Barangay Balingcanaway Community
2nd Place - Taguiporo Giants Association - Sta. Ignacia 
3rd Place - Samahan sa Pura Community
3rd Place - BHF Ligtasan
4th Place - Gr8 Multipurpose


To view the Belenismo entries, please visit the Belenismo sa Tarlac and Tarlac Heritage Foundation websites and facebook pages.