CAMP GENERAL EMILIO AGUINALDO, Quezon City – The Commission on Appointments (CA) Committee on National Defense confirmed the ad interim appointments and nominations of 52 Generals, Flag and Senior Officers of the Armed Forces of the Philippines on Wednesday, December 09 at the Senate of the Philippines, Pasay City.

Upon the recommendation of Representative Luis A. Ferrer IV, Chairman of the CA National Defense Committee, the CA chaired by Senator Vicente C. Sotto III found the AFP officers all fit for the ranks given to them.

The CA approved the nomination to the rank of Vice Admiral of newly installed Commander of Western Command RAdm Roberto Enriquez.

Also confirmed was Medal for Valor awardee BGen. Vicente Bartolome Bacarro, who was nominated to the rank of Major General after his assumption as  Chief of the Office of the Internal Auditor.

CA likewise confirmed the nominations to Brigadier General of BGen. Eugenio V. Hernandez, Colonel Lito D. Villanueva, Colonel Jose Maria R. Cuerpo II, Colonel Romulo A. Manuel Jr., Colonel Joannis Leonardi B. Dimaano, and Colonel Rogelio D. Ulanday.

Other military officers confirmed by CA were BGen. Wilbur C. Mamawag, BGen. Jose H. Narciso, and BGen. Gerry E. Pulohanan.

Also recommended for confirmation in the plenary were Air Force Colonels Arman G. Mampusti, Victorino C. Patricio, Kim Eric Alexander D. Agatep, Ferdinand P. Romano, Nestor A. Etis, Emelito T. Lucero, Augusto N. Padua, Gilberto T. Esteban, Jose Tadeo M. Javier II, Oliver A. Bañaria, Marvel C. Sabellon, Ronaldo L. Saragoza, and Carlito P. Lingad.

Meanwhile, 24 Colonels from the Philippine Army received CA nod such as; Harold M. Argamosa, Luciano M. Caiman Jr., Arthur M. Romanillos Jr., Gaspar B. Panopio, Arnel B. Bautista, Randy N. Espino, Jonathan P. Obena, Richard B. Rabaca, Jacob Thaddeus M. Obligado, Glenn Joy U. Aynera, Eufracio G. Malig Jr., Ericson V. Rosana, Isaclolo H. Diroy Jr., Vince James D. Bantilan, Tommy A. Deliva, Wendell J. Basat, Carlo Franco A. Pimentel, Norberto L. Agbay, Eduardo M. Monjardin, Roy Anthony O. Derilo, Esteveyn E. Ducusin, Nonilon T. Lawas, Fernando B. Dulawan, and Hilarion G. Palma.

Navy Captains Ramilo B. Trinidad and Gregory Gerald V. Fabic were also confirmed by CA. The Commission also deliberated on and recommended the approval of the promotions of Marine Colonel Noel E. Buncab and Colonel Bienvenido F. Simon from Corps of Professors.

The confirmation of ad interim appointments and nominations of senior military officers by CA signifies the commitment and professionalism of AFP personnel. It further affirms the opportunity bestowed for select members of the AFP to better serve the nation to positions of major responsibility.

“Promotion is one of the best ways to end this year on a high note. I trust that this will further inspire you to continue dedicating yourselves for a better armed forces for our country and people. In that way, we will always be worthy of the trust and honor bestowed upon us, my congratulations to you all,” the AFP Chief of Staff General Gilbert I. Gapay said in a statement./// (Photos by Cpl Joel Manzano PA/PAOAFP)